Tanzania Tobacco Board is a crop regulatory body established under the Tobacco Industry Act No. 24 of 2001 (as amended by Crop Laws (Miscellaneous Amendments) Act No. 20 of 2009). The main regulatory responsibilities of the Board as mandated by Section five (5) of the aforementioned legislation are:-

  1. Formulation, implementation and enforcement of policies guidelines and standards aimed at regulating and improving the performance of the tobacco industry in Tanzania;
  2. Provision of advice to the Minister responsible for Agriculture and Government in general on all matters related to the tobacco Industry; and
  3. Promotion and development of a conducive environment for effective and fair competition to all stakeholders in the tobacco industry.


Excellence in the provision of regulatory, advisory and promotional services for the tobacco industry.


To render timely and quality services to tobacco growers and tobacco traders in terms of registration, technical bark stopping and facilitation of private sector contribution in the tobacco industry for enhanced and sustainable growth for the sector’s and country’s benefits.

Principal Activities

The main activities of the Board are developing, promoting and regulating the tobacco industry in Tanzania.

History of the Board

The history of the Tobacco Board goes back to the 1960s when the government established the Tanganyika Tobacco Board. In 1970 the Government of the United Republic of Tanzania established the Tobacco Authority of Tanzania (TAT). TAT was transformed in 1984 to become the Tanzania Tobacco Processing and Marketing Board.

In the year 1993 Tobacco Processing and Marketing Board was restructured to become the Tanzania Tobacco Board (TTB) following the privatization of the tobacco sector which reached its peak in 1997 when Tobacco Board activities were to be financed by the government. The current Board comes to operation after the enactment of the Tobacco Industry Act, 24 of 2001, in accordance with the Tobacco Industry Act, No. 24 of 2001 as amended in 2009.